Private project is a collection of connected pages (a knowledge graph), that is only accessible to you and your collaborators. You can create a private project from [Dashboard](http://knowen.org/dashboard). After putting in initial content and committing the change, the **top node** of your new private project is created. This node will appear as a child of [Private Root](http://knowen.org/nodes/19), and is only accessible by you. (An alternative way to create a private project is by simply creating a child node of [Private Root](http://knowen.org/nodes/19)).

***
![PP](https://knowen-production.s3.amazonaws.com/uploads/attachment/file/1168/Screen%2BShot%2B2016-10-12%2Bat%2B2.30.07%2BPM.png)
***
 
 
### From the main view of the newly created node you will be able to view and add collaborators

***
![Collab](https://knowen-production.s3.amazonaws.com/uploads/attachment/file/1169/Screen%2BShot%2B2016-10-12%2Bat%2B2.31.08%2BPM.png)
***

The private project "grows" by sprouting off descendant nodes. A good practice is to keep individual nodes compact; if a node grows too long to read in one sitting consider splitting off the details into descendant nodes, and keep only the essence in the current one. You will create a network hierarchy of content that will be pleasure to read and share with your collaborators.

### Manipulating Private projects

A private project can be

* **Merged with another private project** by selecting a parent node from another accessible private project. Lists of collaborators of two projects become merged;
* **Made visible from Public Knowledge graph** by adding a public node as a parent of the top node of the project.  This operation can be reversed by removing public parent node;
* **Made fully public ("published")** by adding a public node as a parent of the top node of the project, and removing Private Root parent.

These functions can be accessed from the **top node** of a private project. 

***
![](https://knowen-production.s3.amazonaws.com/uploads/attachment/file/1170/Screen%2BShot%2B2016-10-12%2Bat%2B3.01.34%2BPM.png)
***

When a Private project is made publicly **Visible**, other users (not collaborators) can comment on the content, but not modify it.  Great for collecting feedback on your projects!

When a Private project is **Published**, the access restrictions are completely eliminated and every registered user can not only comment on the content, but also modify it. This is a way to integrate your work into the public knowledge graph, preserving all the history of changes made by you and your collaborators.
